Followers and Rejections

23 Dec

I keep wondering when my life will get any easier. Maybe it’ll be when I leave for college, maybe when I actually find a guy worth my time, maybe when some awesome-understanding literary agent wants to tell me more than just: Great idea…but I pass. Good luck though.

*Sigh*

I’m frustrated, yes, but I have a reason to be. And don’t worry it ends here; I don’t wanna be one of those ridiculous high-on-teen-angst bloggers (if there’s any, I said that for comedic relief).

Alright, followers and rejections……

 vs.

When I say followers, I mean your friends and those awesome strangers who care about the thoughts of someone they’ve never even met before. It means a lot; especially to someone who needs to vent after a low day. Therefore, those guys (or girls, for the feminists out there) are freakin’ awesome!

When I say rejections, I don’t mean JUST the two sucky letters I’ve received in the past two months from agents who I wanted to represent my first book, (that’s right, I’m getting published soon!). I also mean college rejections and relationship rejections. (Which, ironically enough, I shouldn’t blog about because I’m usually the dumpee).

An epiphany came to me this morning as I woke up all giddy and excited (boy, would I get a rude awakening later): querying literary agents is EXACTLY like applying to colleges. Don’t believe me, let’s dissect the processes:

BOTH must be applied for.

BOTH accept based on qualities (writing style, idea vs. GPA, SAT scores)

and

BOTH wish you best of luck after rejecting you (Well, actually I’m not entirely sure of that part because I’ve been accepted to every college I applied for).

Anyhoo, it seems this fury of mine ain’t (yes, I’m using this word even though I’m from Queens and ain’t isn’t a word. Screw you, dictionary, because no matter what you say AIN”T is NOT a word) going away.

When I look back on this, I’m probably gonna laugh, but for now.

#Joni Juelissa ❤

Leave a Reply

